Western Canada Poultry Swap
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Western Canada Poultry Swap

Forum dedicated to the buying and selling of quality heritage poultry in Western Canada.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Thinking about buying a loom...advice please?

+4
uno
islandgal99
Magdelan
Schipperkesue
8 posters

Go to page : 1, 2  Next

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 2]

Schipperkesue

Schipperkesue
Golden Member
Golden Member

I am going to have a lot of lovely Shetland wool here pretty soon, and I neither knit nor crochet. If I buy a loom and take up weaving, what should I know before I purchase? Size, make, problems I should look for in a used loom...please help me out!

Magdelan

Magdelan
Addicted Member
Addicted Member

I have some experience but limited. You want to buy for what you intend to do produce. A large loom will give you the opportunity to make both big and small things. I focused on weaving rugs and I wanted a fairly heavy duty result so you need a fairly heavy duty loom to handle the work. I only did tabby which is the most basic weave you can do, one up one down. I am sure there are others who would have a lot more to offer, weaving has many dimensions. My experience led me to find that a counter marche design of loom was the best for for my purposes because it gave the deepest shed (the gap where you pass the wool through from left to right and right to left) and made it easier for getting a fast rhythm going (just like sewing, I like to weave fast, instant gratification I guess, patience is a learning for me). The width of the front bench/beam is important to take in to account because you can't weave any wider than that width, unless you learn how to do a technique where you can weave double width where there is a fold on one edge. Crikey, looms can come fairly fancy these days with computers attached for special weaves and patterns. I would start by thinking about the