Western Canada Poultry Swap
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Western Canada Poultry Swap

Forum dedicated to the buying and selling of quality heritage poultry in Western Canada.

You are not connected. Please login or register

I need some advice on wintering Rabbits

5 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1I need some advice on wintering Rabbits Empty I need some advice on wintering Rabbits Sun Oct 23, 2011 7:47 pm

animals just for fun

animals just for fun

Hey Everyone, I just have a question I have 2 different kinds of rabbits Flemish giants and lionheads. I have just discovered that some on the female bunnies I kept are now male. ( I am fairly new with this Smile ) So now I am just wondering if I can winter my male rabbits all together in a big cage or is it better to have them separate? Will they fight and try breed each other all the time? Any suggestions?

Schipperkesue

Schipperkesue
Golden Member
Golden Member

I kept a pair of brothers together from birth in a large cage. One of the gentle cretures emasculated the other. Shocked

Sue

Piet

Piet
Addicted Member
Addicted Member

They will either fight or turn gay, probably both. Also they can deprive another from eating, so some can lose weight dramatically. I suggest you split them up and if you don't have the space to do so, eat the remaining balance instead.

http://pvgflemishgiants.tripod.com/

Schipperkesue

Schipperkesue
Golden Member
Golden Member

Piet, I hear even the little ones are delicious! Perfect for the smaller appetite.

Sue

abpride

I keep my breeding bucks in their own cages.I just cant aford to loose one because of bloodlines etc.I have lots of space and cages so its not a issue here.

I do also have a buck pen that any spares go into that are not as important to me.
They all run together but it is about 20 feet by 20 feet.

I have a doe pen started,to see how that goes.