Western Canada Poultry Swap
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Western Canada Poultry Swap

Forum dedicated to the buying and selling of quality heritage poultry in Western Canada.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Darn geese

2 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Darn geese Empty Darn geese Wed Jun 15, 2011 5:05 pm

SerJay

SerJay
Addicted Member
Addicted Member

This is my first year with geese and so everything is new to me but my "gander" started laying in Feb and my goose immediately followed laying so the 2 of them ended up laying 59eggs between them while the weather was still in the mid -30's Grrrr! We blew the eggs out and scrambled them up and added some flax for the chickens. We lost a few eggs to freezing and cracking so the kids ended up dying 44eggs at Easter.

Now I'm waiting (not so patiently) for my teasingly broody cayugas to set in my garden area but I had a prob with ravens and magpies coming into greenhouse and stealing eggs. I put the geese in with them and no more rotten thieves Yeah! Except yesterday my geese found my hubbys brand new blueberry bushes and so he sent them back to the main coop No

My khaki campbell hen that I'm told as a breed never go broody is wildly broody in the chicken coop so I'm letting her be and see how she does if nothing she deserves a chance and a break from laying Very Happy At least 8 of my sons bantams have gone broody and driving me nuts. My 3yr old says they're peckers so he won't collect eggs anymore LOL I'm (not so) patiently waiting for a male pilgrim gosling for my girls but today I found a nest and pretty goose egg in it.... So now if I do get a gander then I guess I won't get goslings this fall.