Western Canada Poultry Swap
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Western Canada Poultry Swap

Forum dedicated to the buying and selling of quality heritage poultry in Western Canada.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Chicken Bedding...Shavings vs Straw

+6
Hillbilly
uno
HigginsRAT
Schipperkesue
Mel
Echo 1
10 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Chicken Bedding...Shavings vs Straw Empty Chicken Bedding...Shavings vs Straw Wed May 22, 2013 12:05 am

Echo 1

Echo 1
Addicted Member
Addicted Member

Ok, as I have said I am new to this whole chicken thing. At the moment we are using pine shavings for bedding. I would love some input on shavings vs straw. How do they compare for warmth, parasite control and general chicken happiness. I want my girls to be HAPPY. I would think the straw would compost better?

2Chicken Bedding...Shavings vs Straw Empty Re: Chicken Bedding...Shavings vs Straw Wed May 22, 2013 9:16 am

Mel

IMO- as soon as we stopped using straw and changed over to the Kentucky bagged shavings - we haven't had a bug and our birds are in way better condition. We show our birds so this is a huge plus!

3Chicken Bedding...Shavings vs Straw Empty Re: Chicken Bedding...Shavings vs Straw Wed May 22, 2013 10:07 am

Schipperkesue

Schipperkesue
Golden Member
Golden Member

I use deep litter which is a foot or so of compost topped with something dry and warm. If the chickens are turning things over I never touch it except to top it off with more bedding. Sometimes before topping I will go in with a fork and churn it up. I am thinking that Cynthia's Mantis may be good for this.

I will top it with peat, which neutralizes odor, and then something dry and warm. For me that would be wheat straw because it is cheapest and it keeps the chickens busy turning it over and looking for seeds and insects.