Western Canada Poultry Swap
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Western Canada Poultry Swap

Forum dedicated to the buying and selling of quality heritage poultry in Western Canada.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Wry neck? and how to deal with it?

+2
CynthiaM
DCChick
6 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Wry neck? and how to deal with it? Empty Wry neck? and how to deal with it? Thu Apr 11, 2013 6:41 am

DCChick

DCChick
Full Time Member
Full Time Member

I was checking out my chicks tonight and found one two week old silkie with its head twisted right upside down! I took him out and gave him a bit of poly-vi-sol and water from a syringe. When I set him by the food, he ate as best he could.

I have no experience with this, but it sounds li me descriptions of wry neck I have heard before.

What exactly is the treatment? I thought I had heard it is caused by a deficiency. Why would he have a deficiency and no one else? They are fed medicated chick starter.

2Wry neck? and how to deal with it? Empty Re: Wry neck? and how to deal with it? Thu Apr 11, 2013 6:52 am

CynthiaM

CynthiaM
Golden Member
Golden Member

I had this kind of thing happen with a buff orpington chick that was 3 weeks old. It scared me. I can't help you with anything but this is what I saw. I watched a chick drink and it put its head all the way back to its back as it swallowed. I thought that for surely this chick was a gonner. Watched it and it did this a couple more times and then carried on like it was normal. I watched for about an hour and never saw it again. There is no evidence of anything. So I wonder if this is just something that will pass...maybe it is something like what I saw. Hope you find resolution to this. Have a great day, CynthiaM.

3Wry neck? and how to deal with it? Empty Re: Wry neck? and how to deal with it? Thu Apr 11, 2013 7:31 am

mirycreek

mirycreek
Golden Member
Golden Member