Western Canada Poultry Swap
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Western Canada Poultry Swap

Forum dedicated to the buying and selling of quality heritage poultry in Western Canada.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Winter Tires

5 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Winter Tires Empty Winter Tires Sat Nov 12, 2011 2:58 pm

Hillbilly

Hillbilly
Addicted Member
Addicted Member

With that time of year now upon us, I thought I would share some info that I have some knowledge on that could help others. Winter tires.

So many people don't bother, as they think all season's are just fine. They say all season don't they?
As the temperature drops, around 4 degrees celcius and lower, the average all season rubber compound starts to harden. This of course, results in lost traction. Think of a hockey puck on ice. This is where winter tires excel. They are designed to stay soft in extreme temperatures.

Here comes my bit of knowledge gained from experience;

I have been driving for a living for over 20 years now and logged well over 1,000,000 km in my work vehicles (which are crappy in snow). Yes, you read that number right. That's not to mention my own personal vehicles. I drive in adverse, wet, slippery mountain areas, and have not found a better winter tire than the Hankook IPike. They are a directional, siped studdable snow tire, but do NOT need to be studded. I even put them on my bronco I commute in, and have NEVER used 4 wheel drive with them on. I live down a logging road that does NOT get ploughed, and drive a winding highway to Victoria daily.

General tire, and Continental tire also make the same tread pattern, and are actually rated a bit better.