Western Canada Poultry Swap
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Western Canada Poultry Swap

Forum dedicated to the buying and selling of quality heritage poultry in Western Canada.

You are not connected. Please login or register

skunk proofing the banty pen

4 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1skunk proofing the banty pen Empty skunk proofing the banty pen Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:46 pm

Magdelan

Magdelan
Addicted Member
Addicted Member

This is my first attempt at loading photographs.  If my son leaves my side I may never be able to repeat it!  Need written step by step instructions.  So, this is what I did today  -  reinforced the banty pen so skunks cannot dig their way in.  Before and after pic  -  not real clear but good enough to see.  Actually, the after photo shows above the work in progress picture.  I used roofing iron strips, dug a trench beside the outside of the pen (on the inside of the barn), unscrewed the upright railings, slipped the tin into place, tightened the screws, back filled and voila!   Have had problems with skunks before and found some suspicious digging by the other reinforced pen so thought I'd make the banties safe so I don't have to worry.  

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

2skunk proofing the banty pen Empty Re: skunk proofing the banty pen Thu Oct 24, 2013 12:31 am

HigginsRAT

Golden Member
Golden Member

Last edited by HigginsRAT on Thu Jan 02, 2014 3:09 pm; edited 1 time in total

http://www.wolven.ca/higgins/ratranch/

3skunk proofing the banty pen Empty Re: skunk proofing the banty pen Thu Oct 24, 2013 6:42 am

Schipperkesue

Schipperkesue
Golden Member
Golden Member

You have pictures! Congratulations figuring it out! Sorry I couldn't help much...Shocked 

4skunk proofing the banty pen Empty Re: skunk proofing the banty pen Thu Oct 24, 2013 4:57 pm

Magdelan

Magdelan
Addicted Member
Addicted Member

Hi Tara and Sue