Western Canada Poultry Swap
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Western Canada Poultry Swap

Forum dedicated to the buying and selling of quality heritage poultry in Western Canada.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Adult hens with crooked toes?

+3
Hidden River
ipf
bigrock
7 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Adult hens with crooked toes? Empty Adult hens with crooked toes? Fri Sep 27, 2013 1:54 pm

bigrock

bigrock
Addicted Member
Addicted Member

I have read articles about young chicks that get crooked toes and that you are to splint them with toothe picks or what ever....now, i have noticed two of my young hens, just coming into lay that have crooked toes and i wondered should i catch them and splint their toes? I had a look at one of them...again..newbie here so i have to admit i don't really know what i am looking at other than they are toes...
they are rather segmented, toe nail seems a little loose on this one foot; perhaps from being walked on. No injury that i could see...
what to do...what to do??
and why does this happen? is it injury, genetics, diet?

2Adult hens with crooked toes? Empty Re: Adult hens with crooked toes? Fri Sep 27, 2013 2:28 pm

ipf

Addicted Member
Addicted Member

possibly some genetic component; most commonly, I believe, incubation temperature

3Adult hens with crooked toes? Empty Re: Adult hens with crooked toes? Fri Sep 27, 2013 5:50 pm

bigrock

bigrock
Addicted Member
Addicted Member

perhaps i wasn't clear....they didn't have this as chicks

4Adult hens with crooked toes? Empty Re: Adult hens with crooked toes? Fri Sep 27, 2013 7:03 pm

ipf

Addicted Member
Addicted Member

ok, sorry. Then no idea. Never heard of that happening. Injury, perhaps?

5Adult hens with crooked toes? Empty Re: Adult hens with crooked toes? Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:44 pm

Hidden River

Hidden River
Golden Member
Golden Member