Western Canada Poultry Swap
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Western Canada Poultry Swap

Forum dedicated to the buying and selling of quality heritage poultry in Western Canada.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Males, Males, Males ....Way to many

4 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Males, Males, Males ....Way to many Empty Males, Males, Males ....Way to many Fri Jun 10, 2011 10:53 am

Perryschofield

Perryschofield
Full Time Member
Full Time Member

Sometimes it just happens.

My coturnixs have gone plain strange. I have been raising coturnix quails for almost 35 years. I have never had a year like this one. I am over flowing with extra males. Coturnixs often hatch slightly more males then hens. I would say over the years they have probably ran 55% males to 45% females. Not this year.

I have a lot of orders to fill this spring so have put a lot of eggs in the incubator.

The last four hatches have been:

hatch 1 - 26 birds - 17 males 9 hens.
hatch 2 - 18 birds - 10 males 8 hens
hatch 3 - 40 birds - 28 males and 12 hens.
hatch 4 - 23 birds - 16 males and 7 hens

Total 107 birds - 71 males and 36 hens. (18 trios I could sell).

This is really strange and makes it hard to fill orders - especially since almost all my orders have been for trios (1m. 2 hens). I have only been able to fill 3 orders so far, and from 107 birds i should have been able to fill 6 or 7 of the orders I have. What is even more strange is how the colours have gone: 13 Redhead chicks - 11 males and 2 hens, (last fall from same 3 birds hatch 18 - 11 hens and 7 males). Silvers - 16 chicks - 12 males and 4 hens ( last fall from same pen 15 males and 16 hens). H

Have any of you ever had a year like this.

All my other birds so far seem to bre hatching more hens then males for the ones old enough to tell what they are.

Perry

http://www.pandlgamebirds.ca