Western Canada Poultry Swap
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Western Canada Poultry Swap

Forum dedicated to the buying and selling of quality heritage poultry in Western Canada.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Too cold outside for bantams?

3 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Too cold outside for bantams? Empty Too cold outside for bantams? Thu Jan 12, 2012 10:06 am

ChicoryFarm

ChicoryFarm
Golden Member
Golden Member

I'm about to go let my birds out for the day and we are experiencing our coldest temperatures yet this winter and I am new to bantam keeping. It's -9 out right now and going up to -4 only with no wind.

Should I keep them inside? I do have a 175 watt heat lamp over their roosts that I'll leave on for the day which means they can return to it throughout the day as they come and go if I let them out.

Breeds are silkies, dutch and cochins.

2Too cold outside for bantams? Empty Re: Too cold outside for bantams? Thu Jan 12, 2012 10:12 am

heda gobbler

heda gobbler
Golden Member
Golden Member

I let my birds out every day, however cold the weather (we have weeks of -15C, occasional -25C). I trust them to stay in if they are feeling cold. I've had silkies and cochins, but not dutch. They all tend to go out at once, drink and poo and then some go back inside.

The turkeys, geese, white chanteclers and buckeyes stay out all day by choice.

But every location is different and your birds may not be used to it so keep an eye on them!

http://www.tatlayokofold.com

3Too cold outside for bantams? Empty Re: Too cold outside for bantams? Thu Jan 12, 2012 10:19 am

ChicoryFarm

ChicoryFarm
Golden Member
Golden Member