Western Canada Poultry Swap
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Western Canada Poultry Swap

Forum dedicated to the buying and selling of quality heritage poultry in Western Canada.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Deworming chickens

+3
pops coops
Hidden River
ChicoryFarm
7 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Deworming chickens Empty Deworming chickens Thu Mar 31, 2011 3:23 pm

ChicoryFarm

ChicoryFarm
Golden Member
Golden Member

I bought some Piperazine to deworm my flock and I've never done it before. I'd be curious to know how many of you deworm your birds and how often and do you start at 6 weeks as the package suggests?

Also, it's a one day treatment you can put in feed or water. What is the best? And how are you sure they get enough of it for one day whether it be in their water or feed?

Thanks for your input.

2Deworming chickens Empty Re: Deworming chickens Thu Mar 31, 2011 3:30 pm

Hidden River

Hidden River
Golden Member
Golden Member

A friend of mine found this information on a site she visits, I found it quite interesting. Almost makes sense why piperazine doesnt alway seem to work.

Ok, I thought the class was wonderful! Our doctor has his 40 year 4 H pin!

Our Vet brought containers with worms, infected intestines and other interesting things.

Our Ga. State Poultry Veterinarian explained worming and several of the different wormers among other things. I will try to explain and not be too muddy about it.

Yes, he said to try the piperzine first. It may be that you have some round worms that are resistant , however as he explained you need to understand the worms and how they work against your chickens and the wormer before moving on to a different wormer.