Western Canada Poultry Swap
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Western Canada Poultry Swap

Forum dedicated to the buying and selling of quality heritage poultry in Western Canada.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Sick chick check list

5 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Sick chick check list Empty Sick chick check list Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:53 pm

uno

uno
Golden Member
Golden Member

(say that quick ten times)

Long time chicken people will know all this stuff. But new people might not. Over the years of raising and hatching birds, this is what I have found to be true in most cases and I share it to help out people who might not know what to do. This is just my opinion and experience. I am no expert.

Screaming chicks. Number one reason, they are cold. Move the light a little closer and make sure there is room for everyone to get under the warmth. Sometimes some get booted out to the cold edges and can't get warm. They will scream about it! Butts caked with poo tell you you've had cold chicks (pasty butt).

Number two reason for screaming chicks is thirst. Sometimes they don't get the hang of drinking. I dip beaks in a shallow water container. But more often than not, they are cold. Rarely do they scream from hunger. If one figures out how to peck at the crumble, before long they all catch on. Monkey see, monkey do.

Rarely, but not unheard of, are insecure chicks that feel all alone in the wide world. They either need more chicks with them or some little toy to cuddle up to. A chick is a creature meant to be cuddled under the downy breast of its mother. A cold, stark, lonely world can be a little overwhelming. And they scream out of lonliness and wanting that place to belong.

Droopy, inactive chicks