Western Canada Poultry Swap
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Western Canada Poultry Swap

Forum dedicated to the buying and selling of quality heritage poultry in Western Canada.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Impacted Crop

5 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Impacted Crop Empty Impacted Crop Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:22 am

okanagan_peppers

okanagan_peppers

I never thought to much about it before until just a couple of days ago. The question being weather or not to use straw over hay for chicken coops for bedding and flooring material? Well now.... I'll never use hay for my chicken coop. I thought this would be a good topic to bring up to learn from.

I've been keeping chickens for about 20 years and have been very lucking in never having to deal with impacted crop or sour crop. But this year I used hay because it was convenient and didn't see any problems. It became a problem when we went through our cold snap and I locked all the chickens in the coop until it passed. I think because they are use to and love grass, as all chickens/poultry do but my Lavender Orpington rooster developed impactacted crop. Luckily I caught it before it became sour crop. TG. right away I gave hime grapeseed oil via eye droppers and massaged his crop and started cooking up oatmeal, millet diced apples with more grape seed oil mixed in for his breakfast. I took about 24 hour before he started to pass some very long and fiberous strands of hay. I'm on day 3 now and he is looking so much better. I still make him cooked oatmeal.millet and got my lacto-fermented sprouted grain going again for winter and I also added grit as well to his oatmeal mixure. Gosh the poor guy. l