Western Canada Poultry Swap
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Western Canada Poultry Swap

Forum dedicated to the buying and selling of quality heritage poultry in Western Canada.

You are not connected. Please login or register

A topic revisited, gapeworm, a clear and present danger

+4
Magdelan
heda gobbler
coopslave
CynthiaM
8 posters

Go to page : 1, 2  Next

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 2]

CynthiaM

CynthiaM
Golden Member
Golden Member

I have been asked to give a friend of Coopslave’s some assistance with ascertaining what may be wrong with some chickens that this person purchased.  It is believed that she purchased ill birds.  New to keeping chickens, this is awful.  I do not know any of the symptoms yet, and I am not an expert, but Coopslave mentioned I had dealing with gapeworm, and yes I have.  Once.  About 2 years ago, with my buff Orpington rooster, who at that time was 20 weeks old.  I find it imperative to share my knowledge, I am compelled and I just cannot stop.  If I did not share things I have learned, I consider that to be hoarding, knowledge hoarding, and a hoarder I am not.  

So as this request  got me to thinking about a health issue that I had with one of my birds, I thought I would bring the topic back to life, which I had began so long ago.  I will firstly recap the gathered information in that thread, my compilation of information, it follows below in quote boxes and then the actual thread will be linked below.  I hope that, as we come into the wintertime, that if others see these particular symptoms of gapeworm, that this thread may help others out.  Have a most wonderful day, CynthiaM.

Following in quotes is the recap of the entire thread's information:

The gapeworm treatment using panacur (fenbendazole 5 ml per four litres for three days) was 100% effective for the treatment of gapeworm.