Western Canada Poultry Swap
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Western Canada Poultry Swap

Forum dedicated to the buying and selling of quality heritage poultry in Western Canada.

You are not connected. Please login or register

how to sex ducks

+6
Hillbilly
karona
SerJay
fuzzylittlefriend
Schipperkesue
uno
10 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1how to sex ducks Empty how to sex ducks Tue Jul 16, 2013 12:30 pm

uno

uno
Golden Member
Golden Member

Serjay's ducks are growing like weeds, but I do not know how to tell males from females.

I have 3 all black Cayugas, one is slightly smaller than the other two, but started life as a caesarean runt to begin with.

I have tried to notice difference in feathering or body shape, but I can't see any differences. I am new to the flat footed creatures.

I also have 2 gray ducks, not sure what breed they are, I think they are a cross. Have no idea about sexing them either.

Guidance?

2how to sex ducks Empty Re: how to sex ducks Tue Jul 16, 2013 12:57 pm

Schipperkesue

Schipperkesue
Golden Member
Golden Member

Apparently there is a way to press on the vent area and the parts pop out. Not something you just want to fool around with tho.

When they start to quack, the male is low and murmuring. The female is loud and obnoxious. No comments from male members needed on this!

And of course, the males will get a curly feather over their tail.

3how to sex ducks Empty Re: how to sex ducks Tue Jul 16, 2013 1:16 pm

fuzzylittlefriend

fuzzylittlefriend
Addicted Member
Addicted Member

Us the curly tail feather around 12 weeks ish

http://pauluzzifamilypoultry.webs.com/

4how to sex ducks Empty Re: how to sex ducks Tue Jul 16, 2013 1:27 pm

SerJay

SerJay
Addicted Member
Addicted Member