Western Canada Poultry Swap
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Western Canada Poultry Swap

Forum dedicated to the buying and selling of quality heritage poultry in Western Canada.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Separation - How long?

+5
Piet
smokyriver
poplar girl
rosewood
RavenWood
9 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Separation - How long? Empty Separation - How long? Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:44 pm

RavenWood

RavenWood

How long does it take to 'clean out' my hens before putting them in with the intended rooster to breed for collection? I'm new at this so I don't really know what the proper terminology for this is! LOL

https://www.facebook.com/RavenwoodAcresHeritagePoultry

2Separation - How long? Empty Re: Separation - How long? Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:02 pm

rosewood

rosewood
Golden Member
Golden Member

Three weeks usually, but 4 is better. Even at that you are not totally guaranteed.

3Separation - How long? Empty Re: Separation - How long? Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:05 pm

RavenWood

RavenWood

Wow - that's a lot longer than I thought. I had been told 2 weeks. So if I separate my black silkies from my white silkies now then I may be ready to collect at the end of Feb?

4Separation - How long? Empty Re: Separation - How long? Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:51 am

poplar girl

poplar girl
Full Time Member
Full Time Member

Yep, I wait 4 weeks too.

5Separation - How long? Empty Re: Separation - How long? Sat Jan 26, 2013 8:27 pm

smokyriver

smokyriver
Golden Member
Golden Member

1 month it is for me!!

http://Www.poultrypalacecanada.com

6Separation - How long? Empty Re: Separation - How long? Sat Jan 26, 2013 8:49 pm

Piet

Piet
Addicted Member
Addicted Member

And for next year if you can help it, keep no roosters with the hens at all until you select breeders. because if the hen is "open" and you put her with a roo, you can collect for hatching the next day.