Western Canada Poultry Swap
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Western Canada Poultry Swap

Forum dedicated to the buying and selling of quality heritage poultry in Western Canada.

You are not connected. Please login or register

How-to...hatching in a Hovabator and making it work!

3 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Schipperkesue

Schipperkesue
Golden Member
Golden Member

I, like many people, have a Hovabator- an inexpensive, entry level incubator.  In fact I have three, two with a fan and one without.

I have been hatching for three years in these things and have learned a lot through trial and error. Here are some ways you can make your Hovabator at its peak of efficiency for you.

I was inspired to revamp a previous writing on this subject after posting recently. I had a superb hatch and along with my previous knowledge, I have Clayton and his excellent presentation on incubating to thank.

So some of my previous hatches were more successful than the others.  I have thought long and hard about my successes and failures and compiled a list of things I do to make my hatches more successful.

1. Humidity- I live in Dryberta.  There is much debate on adding water to increase humitity or not to add water.  Our climate is dry.  It makes sense to add water. I found an inexpensive hygrometer in Canadian Tire and have been using that to monitor humidity. I try to maintain 40 percent for incubation and 50 percent for the hatch.

2. Egg turner- Imperative if you want to maintain humidity and temperature, though you can get along without one.