Western Canada Poultry Swap
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Western Canada Poultry Swap

Forum dedicated to the buying and selling of quality heritage poultry in Western Canada.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Sheep Thread

+7
coopslave
lady leghorn
Hidden River
bckev
authenticfarm
heda gobbler
Schipperkesue
11 posters

Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 3]

1Sheep Thread Empty Sheep Thread Tue May 28, 2013 9:12 am

Schipperkesue

Schipperkesue
Golden Member
Golden Member

I am relatively new to sheep. In fact I have only raised sheep once before and never bred them. I am hoping to get a little online conversation going amongst people who have sheep and want to bandy about ideas on raising them.

My sheep are Shetlands. I know Heda has them as well. What kind of sheep do you breed and how long have you been breeding them?

2Sheep Thread Empty Re: Sheep Thread Tue May 28, 2013 10:03 am

heda gobbler

heda gobbler
Golden Member
Golden Member

I think this very interesting thread should be reposted to "Sheep".

As Sue says, I have Shetlands and a few mixed breed ewes. I guess I've been breeding them 7-8 years. They started as pasture management tools. I love them. They love me. But they are quite shy around strangers.

http://www.tatlayokofold.com

3Sheep Thread Empty Re: Sheep Thread Tue May 28, 2013 10:07 am

authenticfarm

authenticfarm
Golden Member
Golden Member

My folks used to raise registered Dorpers. I know a little about sheep, having assisted with lambing and such, but not a lot. I had already been moved out for quite a few years when they got into them!

As a cattle producer, though, having sheep personally is against my religion. Wink

http://www.partridgechanteclers.com

4Sheep Thread Empty Re: Sheep Thread Tue May 28, 2013 11:09 am

Schipperkesue

Schipperkesue
Golden Member
Golden Member