Western Canada Poultry Swap
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Western Canada Poultry Swap

Forum dedicated to the buying and selling of quality heritage poultry in Western Canada.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Tylan Egg Dip for Mycoplasma- Ducks?

3 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Tylan Egg Dip for Mycoplasma- Ducks? Empty Tylan Egg Dip for Mycoplasma- Ducks? Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:46 am

silkiebantam

silkiebantam
Addicted Member
Addicted Member

I know that the egg dip isn't 100% effective against myco, but I am wondering if it is possible to do the egg dip on Duck eggs (Call Ducks). I'm not really experienced in ducks, although I've had them on and off several years ago, I've never incubated the eggs. Duck eggs have a different texture then chicken eggs. Are they more water resistant then chicken eggs? Would the egg dip inoculate (is that the right word?) the duck eggs?

http://klewnufarms.blogspot.com/

2Tylan Egg Dip for Mycoplasma- Ducks? Empty Re: Tylan Egg Dip for Mycoplasma- Ducks? Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:55 am

silkiebantam

silkiebantam
Addicted Member
Addicted Member

Hmmmm...

Was just thinking. I remember one time I had a chicken hatch out Duck eggs and I was told by someone to float the eggs every so often in warm water because the duck eggs need higher humidity.

Is this true? And if so, then in theory, if the eggs are absorbing water (when incubating) then they should absorb the Tylan Solution. Although, dipping them in the cold water should make them contract, drawing in the solution better.

Anyone ever do Tylan Dip with Duck Eggs?

Anyone else ever hear of dipping duck eggs in warm water when incubating to keep the eggs from losing too much moisture?

3Tylan Egg Dip for Mycoplasma- Ducks? Empty Re: Tylan Egg Dip for Mycoplasma- Ducks? Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:55 am

Schipperkesue

Schipperkesue
Golden Member
Golden Member