Western Canada Poultry Swap
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Western Canada Poultry Swap

Forum dedicated to the buying and selling of quality heritage poultry in Western Canada.

You are not connected. Please login or register

White Chantecler leg color

3 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1White Chantecler leg color Empty White Chantecler leg color Wed Jul 20, 2011 10:47 am

KathyS

KathyS
Golden Member
Golden Member

I'm new to White Chanteclers and out of the chicks I hatched this year some have legs that are white with a bluish/greenish tinge, and some are yellow. I've been looking at White chantie photos and seeing yellow shanks on show quality roos. So, what is the correct color, and what would be a disqualifying color?
Thanks!!

Last edited by KathyS on Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:34 am; edited 1 time in total

http://www.hawthornhillpoultry.com

2White Chantecler leg color Empty Re: White Chantecler leg color Wed Jul 20, 2011 11:23 am

Sebas49

Sebas49

Hi Kathy,

Leg color on Chantecler must be yellow, any other color is considered a disqualification when showing. A judge will let pale yellow legs go if a hen is in production. A blue tinge leg color is a not acceptable. Chicks leg color can change as they get older meaning white legs may turn yellow or close to yellow but blue tinge will normally not turn yellow. To me it sound like something else is crossed in there to give you the bluish tinge. If you are keeping show quality birds, which should be everyone's goal, it will be easy to cull out due to leg color. Also check the comb type to make sure they are a cushion type comb with very little wattles showing.

http://www.c-rducks.com

3White Chantecler leg color Empty Re: White Chantecler leg color Wed Jul 20, 2011 11:36 am

coopslave

coopslave
Golden Member
Golden Member

There was a very good discussion about this on another forum (SHOWBIRD) that I really enjoyed.