Western Canada Poultry Swap
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Western Canada Poultry Swap

Forum dedicated to the buying and selling of quality heritage poultry in Western Canada.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Suggestions and Advice Needed

5 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Suggestions and Advice Needed Empty Suggestions and Advice Needed Sun Aug 24, 2014 1:55 pm

Raven Crest

New Here

So I'm still a bit new to this chicken thing, and I know it's late in the season, but my "breeding flock" if you will, is getting to the end of their useful life. I had a broody hen, but she got "fired" for squishing chicks.
I've had a read through some of the other threads, and there's lots of good info there on protocol for hatching conditions, etc. I'm looking for suggestions on small-ish affordable incubators, and methods.

• Turner or no turner? My work hours mean that I'm away from home for 14 hours at least 4 days in a row.
  • Is it better to put them all in at the same time? I'm only getting 2-3 egges a day from 6 hens.
  • How do you store the eggs before you put them in the incubator?
  • Suggested brands?
  • Brands to stay away from?

Thanks in advance  Money Throw 

http://www.ravencresttraining.tk

2Suggestions and Advice Needed Empty Re: Suggestions and Advice Needed Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:03 pm

bcboy

bcboy
Addicted Member
Addicted Member

How much money do you have to spend on a incubator?

Raven Crest wrote:So I'm still a bit new to this chicken thing, and I know it's late in the season, but my "breeding flock" if you will, is getting to the end of their useful life. I had a broody hen, but she got "fired" for squishing chicks.
I've had a read through some of the other threads, and there's lots of good info there on protocol for hatching conditions, etc. I'm looking for suggestions on small-ish affordable incubators, and methods.